Rider Training   Before You Ride   Media Information   Respect the Outdoors
 Riding Gear   ASI Products   Contact Us   Library / Safety Tips   Instructors
 
ASI Home / Online Enrollment / FAQ's

Florida OHV Certification Program Frequently Asked Questions

1. What is the Florida State Certification Program?
When operating an Off-Highway Vehicle (OHV) on public land, Florida state law currently requires that all OHV riders 6 - 15 years of age must possess a Florida OHV Safety Certificate and be supervised by an adult. ASI, under agreement with the Florida Department of Agriculture, Division of Forestry, offers approved training for OHV certification.

2. How can I get an OHV Safety Certificate?
Any student who completes an ATV RiderCourse℠ or DirtBike School℠ class, or participates as an Observer in an ATV RiderCourse (see #6 below), will be eligible to receive a Florida OHV Safety Certificate. Only students 6 - 15 years of age will be issued certificates automatically. All others must request them by calling ASI Client Services at (800) 776-7620.

3. What if I lose my Certificate?
Replacement/duplicate OHV Safety Certificates are available from ASI Client Services at (800) 776-7620 for a $3.00 fee.

4. If I already took the ATV RiderCourse or DirtBike School , do I need to take it again to get an OHV Safety Certificate?
No. Call ASI Client Services at (800) 776-7620 for more information.

5. Are there any age/OHV size restrictions?
Yes. The age of the rider must meet any manufacturer's recommendations for the vehicle ridden and be at least 6 years of age. Additionally, the instructor/coach may limit the use of any vehicle deemed to create a safety hazard.

6. What if I don't have the right sized machine for my child's age group?
In some areas loan ATVs may be available free of charge. If the appropriately sized vehicle is not available, ATV RiderCourse students age 6 through 15 can participate as "Observers" and still receive their OHV Safety Certificate, but not an ATV RiderCourse completion card. Observers are not allowed in the DirtBike School class.

7. What is an Observer's role in the ATV RiderCourse?
An Observer will participate in classroom lessons and discussions, and will also observe all riding lessons from a safe vantage point.

8. How many Observers can be in a class at the same time?
An ATV RiderCourse can have up to 4 Observers. Observers must be age 6 through 15. Observers are not allowed in the DirtBike School class.

9. As an Observer, can I still receive my new ATV purchaser training incentive?
No. Only students who complete the hands-on ATV RiderCourse (not Observers) are eligible for incentives.

10. Will an Observer receive an ASI ATV RiderCourse Completion Card?
No, but they will receive a Florida OHV Safety Certificate.

11. When will I receive my Florida OHV Safety Certificate?
Certificates are printed and mailed on the 1st and 15th of each month.

12. If I enroll in an ATV RiderCourse as an Observer, will I receive a confirmation letter?
Yes. A confirmation letter will be mailed that includes a detailed map with directions to the site and the Instructor's name and phone number.

13. What is the cost of the class?
All Terrain Vehicle Training:
All Florida residents age 6 to 15 will be trained for $55. The fee for students age 16 and older is $150. Purchasers of new ATVs may also be eligible for free training. Contact Enrollment Express for more information at (888) 517-9618. Florida residents can participate in the ATV RiderCourse as "Observers" if they are age 6 through 15. The cost is $55.

Dirtbike Training:
All Florida residents age 6 to 15 will be trained for $75. The fee for students age 16 and older is $125. Observers are not allowed in the DirtBike School class.

14. If I live in another state, but ride in Florida on public lands, do I need a Florida OHV Safety Certificate?
If you hold a certificate issued by another state such as Texas Department of Public Safety or Pennsylvania Department of Natural Resources, Florida will recognize and accept those certificates. Out-of-state youth residing in Florida for less than 30 days are exempt.

15. What are considered public lands?
Lands within the state that are available for public use and that are owned, operated, or managed by a federal, state, county, or municipal government entity.

16. Can I ride on private property without a Certificate?
Yes. However, we highly recommend that all riders take an approved ATV RiderCourse or DirtBike School class.

17. Can residents of other states get a Florida OHV Safety Certificate?
Yes, if you complete ATV RiderCourse or DirtBike School class, or observe an ATV RiderCourse taught by a Florida licensed Instructor, and pay a $3.00 Certificate fee. Call ASI Client Services at (800) 776-7620 for more information.

Continue on to...

Click here to enroll online!

For the ATV RiderCourse nearest you, call toll free (800) 887-2887 | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policies
The All-Terrain Vehicle Safety Institute (ASI), a not-for-profit division of the Specialty Vehicle Institute of America (SVIA),
was formed in 1988 to implement an expanded national program of all-terrain vehicle (ATV) safety education and
awareness. The ASI is sponsored by
BRP, Honda, Kawasaki, KYMCO USA, Polaris, Suzuki, Textron Off Road, and Yamaha. For a list of non-member "Participating Companies," click here.
Watch Us on YouTube Follow Us on Twitter Like Us on Facebook